Hazard Mitigation Assistance Grants

hma-logo.jpg

Hazard Mitigation Assistance Grants are provided to Washington State jurisdictions and tribal governments to reduce the effects of natural hazards and mitigate vulnerability to future disaster damage.

Navigate to Washington state’s open HMA application rounds by clicking the links.

Building Resilient Infrastructure & Communities (BRIC)
(accepting pre-applications)



Flood Mitigation Assistance (FMA)
(accepting pre-applications)


Hazard Mitigation Grant Program (HMGP) DR-4584/4593
(accepting pre-applications)


Hazard Mitigation Grant Program (HMGP) – Post Fire

Hazard Mitigation Grant Program (HMGP) DR-4481
(accepting pre-applications)

What is Hazard Mitigation?

Hazard mitigation is any sustainable action that reduces or eliminates long-term risk to people and property from natural hazards and their effects. This definition distinguishes actions that have a long-term impact from those that are more closely associated with immediate preparedness, response and recovery activities. Hazard mitigation is the only phase of emergency management specifically dedicated to breaking the cycle of damage, reconstruction, and repeated damage.

Mitigation activities include:

  • Recognizing, planning for, and addressing risks.
  • Building resilient systems, communities and infrastructure.
  • Identifying, analyzing and planning for specific threats and/or hazards in the area.

For any general questions, or if you would like to be added to our mailing list, please contact HMA@mil.wa.gov. Emails sent to HMA@mil.wa.gov are received by all HMA staff to ensure prompt responses. If you would like to reach out to one of our staff members directly, contact information is included in the below menu.


Resources

Additional Resources:


Mitigation Staff Contact Information

Questions? Contact us at HMA@mil.wa.gov.

Timothy Cook
State Hazard Mitigation Officer
tim.cook@mil.wa.gov

Kevin Zerbe
Hazard Mitigation Strategist
kevin.zerbe@mil.wa.gov

Ryan Chandler
Hazard Mitigation Grant Supervisor
ryan.chandler@mil.wa.gov

Byron Smith
Hazard Mitigation Grant Program Coordinator
byron.smith@mil.wa.gov

Sergio Madrid
Hazard Mitigation Grant Program Coordinator
Sergio.madrid@mil.wa.gov

Cynthia Foley
Hazard Mitigation Program Coordinator
cynthia.foley@mil.wa.gov

Matthew Lebens
Hazard Mitigation Program Coordinator
matthew.lebens@mil.wa.gov

Tammi Garofalo
Hazard Mitigation Grant Program Coordinator
tammi.garofalo@mil.wa.gov

Kirsten Weinmeister

Hazard Mitigation Grant Program Coordinator
kirsten.weinmeister@mil.wa.gov

Ashley Lawrence
Hazard Mitigation Grant Program Assistant
ashley.lawrence@mil.wa.gov

Logan Mast

Hazard Mitigation Grant Program Assistant
logan.mast@mil.wa.gov

For any general questions, or if you would like to be added to our mailing list, please contact HMA@mil.wa.gov.