Hazard Mitigation Assistance Grants

hma-logo.jpg

Hazard Mitigation Assistance Grants are provided to Washington State jurisdictions and tribal governments to reduce the effects of natural hazards and mitigate vulnerability to future disaster damage.

Navigate to Washington state’s open HMA application rounds by clicking the links.

Building Resilient Infrastructure & Communities (BRIC)

Flood Mitigation Assistance (FMA)

Hazard Mitigation Grant Program (HMGP) DR-4584/4593

Hazard Mitigation Grant Program (HMGP) – Post Fire

Hazard Mitigation Grant Program (HMGP) DR-4481


Hazard Mitigation Grant Program (HMGP) DR-4635

Hazard Mitigation Grant Program (HMGP) DR-4650

Announcements

Fiscal Year 2022 Funding Opportunities Announcement: The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has announced the opening of their application period for the FY2022 Building Resilient Infrastructure and Communities (BRIC) and Flood Mitigation Assistance (FMA) grant programs. EMD is designated to administer and oversee these programs for the State, including the application process for all eligible entities within the State (Federally recognized Tribes may apply directly to FEMA). You can find the official notice of funding opportunity here Fiscal Year 2022 Notices of Funding Opportunities.

The Consolidated Appropriations Act of 2022, passed by Congress and signed into law by President Biden on March 15, 2022, includes an administrative provision that directly impacts the required federal cost-share percentage for selected FEMA grant rounds, including six of Washington State’s Hazard Mitigation Grant Program (HMGP) rounds. This Fact Sheet provides key information and guidance for those participating in the affected grant rounds, including local governments, state agencies, and tribes.

What is Hazard Mitigation?

Hazard mitigation is any sustainable action that reduces or eliminates long-term risk to people and property from natural hazards and their effects. This definition distinguishes actions that have a long-term impact from those that are more closely associated with immediate preparedness, response and recovery activities. Hazard mitigation is the only phase of emergency management specifically dedicated to breaking the cycle of damage, reconstruction, and repeated damage.

Mitigation activities include:

  • Recognizing, planning for, and addressing risks.
  • Building resilient systems, communities and infrastructure.
  • Identifying, analyzing and planning for specific threats and/or hazards in the area.

For any general questions, or if you would like to be added to our mailing list, please contact HMA@mil.wa.gov. Emails sent to HMA@mil.wa.gov are received by all HMA staff to ensure prompt responses. If you would like to reach out to one of our staff members directly, contact information is included in the below menu.


Resources

Additional Resources:


Mitigation Staff Contact Information

Questions? Contact us at HMA@mil.wa.gov.

Timothy Cook
State Hazard Mitigation Officer
tim.cook@mil.wa.gov

Kevin Zerbe
Hazard Mitigation Strategist
kevin.zerbe@mil.wa.gov

Ryan Chandler
Hazard Mitigation Grant Supervisor
ryan.chandler@mil.wa.gov

Matthew Lebens
Hazard Mitigation Grant Supervisor
matthew.lebens@mil.wa.gov

Ashley Lawrence
Hazard Mitigation Monitoring & Closeout Specialist
ashley.lawrence@mil.wa.gov

Sergio Madrid
Hazard Mitigation Grant Program Coordinator
Sergio.madrid@mil.wa.gov

Christopher Credle
Hazard Mitigation Grant Program Coordinator
christopher.credle@mil.wa.gov

Angelina Donovan
Hazard Mitigation Grant Program Coordinator
angelina.donovan@mil.wa.gov

Jennifer Wamboldt
Hazard Mitigation Grant Program Coordinator
jennifer.wamboldt@mil.wa.gov

Sarah Bucher
Hazard Mitigation Grant Program Coordinator
sarah.bucher@mil.wa.gov

Patrick Joseph
Hazard Mitigation Grant Program Coordinator
patrick.joseph@mil.wa.gov


Logan Mast

Hazard Mitigation Grant Program Assistant
logan.mast@mil.wa.gov

For any general questions, or if you would like to be added to our mailing list, please contact HMA@mil.wa.gov.